< Previous Election

Next Election >

Winter 2013 ASUCD Election

Ryan Wonders NOW 761
Amrit "Kaur" Sahota NOW 568
Ingrid "Pamela" Nonga Ngue NOW 462
Jonathan Yip NOW 429
Yee Xiong SMART 407
Miles Thomas BEST 392
Reuben Torres SMART 369
Nicole "Nikki" Kim Independent 332
Chandler Hill NOW 318
Iris Xie SMART 263
Marissa Ayala BEST 251
Joanna Villegas SMART 245
Brendan Crotty BEST 213
Justin Dowdle NOW 204
Araxya Movsisyan Independent 199
Roman Rivilis Independent 172
Brittany Garzaniti SMART 126
Evan Rothstein BEST 88
Bryce Fick BEST 78
Turnout Information
Total Valid Votes: 5877
Total Abstained Votes: 375
Total Voters (Turnout): 6252
President & Vice-President
Carly Sandstrom & Bradley Bottoms NOW 2989
Paul Min & Sergio Cano Independent 1934
Migz Espinoza & Lane Lewis FUQ 1327
Turnout Information
Total Valid Votes (Turnout): 6250
Total Abstained Votes: 2
Total Voters (Turnout): 6252


Note 1: Here is the breakdown for how each voting bloc ended up being represented in the Senate:

  • NOW gained 46.7% of first round votes and 50% of the Senate seats.
  • SMART gained 24.0% of first round votes and 33.3% of the Senate seats.
  • BEST gained 17.4% of first round votes and 16.7% of the Senate seats.
  • Independents gained 12.0% of the first round votes and 0% of the Senate seats.

Note 2: SMART and FUQ supported each other and campaigned together. The BEST slate and Roman Rivilis supported the Independent executive ticket of Min/Cano.

Historical Notes:

  • This is the first ASUCD election since Winter 2005 to have three slates running five or more candidates for Senate.
  • This is the first ASUCD election in over 10 years that someone has been elected to the Presidency without first being elected to the Senate. Carly Sandstrom was appointed to the Senate to fill a vacancy but this was the first time she ran for office in ASUCD.
  • This is the first ASUCD election in over 10 years where a female presidential candidate defeated a male presidential candidate. However, in both the previous cases of a female presidential candidate losing to a male presidential candidate, the female presidential candidate also had a female running mate.
  • This is the first ASUCD election since at least Winter 2006 that The California Aggie endorsed an executive ticket that did not end up winning the election.

The following tables show information for Facebook events created by the candidates and tickets for the election. The numbers in the tables were as of 5pm on February 19, 2013 (the first day of voting). Yes is the number of people who accepted the event invitation. Maybe are those who said they may attend. Invited is the number of people who were invited to the event but did not choose Yes or Maybe. Candidates in bold were elected.

Amrit Kaur Sahota227261429
Joanna Villegas218681499
Pamela Nonga210532028
Yee Xiong200481539
Brittany Garzaniti176802748
Chandler Hill170431515
Ryan Wonders163481297
Reuben Torres159371556
Jonathan Yip151591829
Iris Xie148431830
Nikki Kim14024839
Marissa Ayala138391099
Roman Rivilis13524662
Miles Thomas13431627
Justin Dowdle12724814
Araxya Movsisyan11126795
Evan Rothstein8122585
Brendan Crotty7538398
Bryce Fick4818146
Exec TicketYesMaybeInvited
Carly Sandstrom & Bradley Bottoms400813378
Migz Espinoza & Lane Lewis322642589
Paul Min & Sergio Cano216822523